WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Polarised

The axe has fallen on Blipfoto Limited. Still no official word from BlipCentral, but I'm feeling so sorry for the staff right now. They are watching their livelihoods disappear, and I'm sure if they could communicate with us about it they would.

I'm staying till the fat lady sings. And if this is my last ever blip, what better choice than my favourite tree? The one that inspired a fabulous clicking in my skull almost exactly two years ago (and again several times since).

Kendall has of course written about this more eloquently than I can. And if you want to read a story about how Blipfoto really can save your life, it's here. My story is not that life-changing,  but Blipfoto has become a huge part of my life in the last three years. I am out with my camera every day, see every journey as a possible source of blips, and even when I'm not taking photos I observe the world around me much more closely. When I started, it was only about the photos. But I wouldn't still be here if it had stayed that way. It's the community and the friends I've made that have kept me going, clicking that publish button 1069 times. I've conversed online and met offline, and even if Blipfoto does disappear, I'll keep doing that with the people I have met here. The atmosphere here is unique among social media sites, not least because in three years' blipping I have only ever received one snarky comment.

In case it does all disappear overnight:
Flickr
Twitter
La Recette du Jour
Email: blipper@archetype-it.com

Meanwhile, as Graham and earthdreamer say, the best thing we can do is keep blipping and show our commitment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.