Galerina Fungi on a Kapuka Trunk

The fungi quest continues here in the forest. Today's shot is a trio of small galerina fungi, which I spied about six feet up a kapuka/Broadleaf.

I wanted to get even closer for this shot (simply because I could not get the tripod back a little due to another tree!) so I added my 16mm Fuji extension tube to my macro lens to lessen the focal distance. The tube works well on both the 60mm and 35mm lenses, having full autofocus and metering and the usual Fuji rock solid build quality.

The use of the macro tube means that I can get to almost 1:1 scale on the sensor. This little delicate umbrella of a mushroom stands less than one inch tall. 

It's amazing what little wonders are lurking out there!

Thank for the lovely comments on my other fungi shots so far. I'm glad you like seeing them as much as I enjoy capturing them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.