Freyjad

By Freyjad

Victoria Tower

This is my entry for Hobbs Wide Angle Wednesday Challenge:-

The theme this week is "Looking Up", so that's what I'm doing from my vantage point at the bottom of the steps which lead up to the tower.  The day as you can probably guess from the photo was chilly with a biting wind (particularly so when I reached the top).  I've got a bit of distortion here, but I think it probably emphasises what I hoped to achieve.

In 1897 Queen Victoria had reigned  for sixty years  -   longer than any other monarch, and so a memorial was planned in the form of a tower on the hill overlooking the town of Huddersfield. Despite some difficulty raising the money, the tower was opened on 24 June 1899, and although often referred to as the Jubilee Tower, the correct name is the Victoria Tower. It cost £3,298, and is 106 feet (32.3 m) high.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.