Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A shaft of sunlight

The weather has continued to be more like summer than Spring.  When I went for a walk this afternoon, it was teeshirt time and my fleece was tied around my waist.  I walked to Lincoln Hill and then to the junction with Hadrian's Wall Trail. I think I did just over a mile and with no ill effects.

I have photographed wild garlic in this tiny secret wood previously.  It's all ready to burst forth. I liked the dappled light with the occasional rays of sun bursting through.

Tonight we went to hear Julian Spalding in the Hexham Book Festival talking about his latest book, Realisation: From Seeing to Understanding - the Origins of Art.  Wikipedia says that he is "considered to be a controversial maverick and outspoken critic of the art world".

Less than 20 people bought tickets to hear him, which was a shame because his stream of consciousness was quite amazing. In the first 10 minutes I thought this was the emperor's new clothes and I'm still not sure. I was gradually seduced by hearing someone expounding a whole set of ideas. The air was fizzing.  (Someone needs to show his a video of his presentation - I have not seen such a lot of distracting fidgeting, scratching you don't need to ask how extensively, and dancing around. I think he knocked over his glass three times!) If you want to read about his views on the pyramids try this link.

Roll on more book festival events and roll on our walking festival on Saturday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.