Into the Deep Woods

Sometimes it’s good to go away from the obvious walks.  This is the same stream that has featured in previos blips showing the beaver dams and lodges but this time I followed further downstream until the stream disappeared into an area of fallen trees and small waterfalls. Usually I follow a path that bypasses this area but this time I didn’t leave the stream. I hopped from rock to rock, ducked under fallen trees, brushed by small firs blocking access.
What did I find? Nothing wildly unusual but there was an unusual intimacy in the area.  It was all very small scale and I felt like a giant here.  The rocks were unusually mossy and everywhere there was fallen wood and leaf mould. There was the noise of rushing water everywhere and I felt I was somewhere usually only seen by wild animals.
It’s definitely worth stepping away from the beaten track!

PS - Blip burst! I've been so busy (and on the road) the last few days so I’m getting up-to-date by blipping 20th, 21st and 22nd April today, as well as today's (24th) blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.