Buddy Poppy sales

We did some errands after the really successful Hanover Garden Club Plant Sale ($3330 profit from plants and trees dug from the gardens of members). T went into the liquor store and I opted to stay in the car. She came right back out to tell me that one of my parents' friends, Virginia was inside selling Buddy Poppies. She was doing Memorial Day fundraising for local VFW (Veterans of Foreign Wars) projects. Sharp as a tack, 95 and going strong, her daughter and I were childhood playmates. Virginia always says she is forever grateful to my dad for getting her husband a job and into the Pipefitter's Union after WWII. She and Stan have been married 70 years, my mother and father knew her all their lives. She and my Aunt Eleanor are the two surviving members of their Hanover High School class. She was thrilled to see me, we talk on the phone most weeks and she was full of questions about our trip to Fenway Park with DDW last Tuesday night. Ginny was the first recipient of the Hanover Citizen of the Year award and will be riding in a special open car, along with her husband, a US Navy WWII veteran, in the Memorial Day Parade on Monday morning. Here they are in 2013.

For the Record,
This day came in rather cool and sunny, a lovely day in my book.

All hands healing

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.