Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Gold Island (Wark)

This afternoon, I visited Gold Island, which lies in the River North Tyne, just north of Wark.  It was a grey day, but brightened up a bit.  Recent heavy rains mean that wellies are essential to cross to the island, whereas you can usually find a dryish route over the stony river bed.

The island is known for its wonderful bluebell display. Bluebells in this part of the world do not grow as profusely as in some other woods down south, but they are lovely. Today the stitchwort was out, peppering the blue carpets with white. In the more woodland areas, the wild garlic was just opening and also a  few wood avens.

I met one family, whose shy daughter presented me with a bluebell spike. I copied her style by wearing it in my hair.

Otherwise its been a quiet day at home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.