Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The fascination of group photos

Julie stayed over last night which gave us a short time to chat this morning before heading for Hexham. She went home to Haltwhistle, to enjoy the freedom of removing her cervial collar. (You may remember she was attacked by a cow and had a broken neck just a few weeks ago.)

I shopped and had my hair cut. On my way home the road through Acomb and Wall was closed - or at least there was a horrendous traffic jam. I had to make a long detour to reach Humshaugh, hoping that the frozen food would make it.

This afternoon I went to Haltwhistle to meet up with a walking group from Winlaton. One of their number, Austin (seen on the left of this group) had organised a bus to bring 22 of them to walk in our area. They all did a short walk then some did an extra walk from Haltwhistle.

I met them in the Black Bull.

I'm fascinated by what happens in group photos. Who looks at the camera?  Someone needs to crouch to be in the image.  There is often a lot to see if you take the time. (Make sure you check out that clock too.)

Two of these men have been friends since they were 5. Most of the group have walked together for over 50 years. They were great fun and I enjoyed their company. Hopefully some of them will come to the walking festival in October. (I distributed our cards around the group).

My only regret is that I could not walk today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.