Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Seen in Wooler

I drove north this afternoon for a weekend break in Belford with Maureen and Brian. The traffic news suggested that the A1 was very busy, so I chose a cross country route through Wooler.

I stopped for a brief leg stretch and saw this shop, just asking to be blipped.  The small window to the right (out of the picture) has a few pair of specs in, so the optician must have diversified. Fascinating.

It was a grey, cold afternoon. As I drove towards Belford I could see the sea fret on the coast. Back at home, the sun was shining.

There was a warm welcome. Maureen had gone to the trouble of cooking lamb shanks. She knows that I love lamb, but I don't cook it because Mum doesn't eat any. this makes it a treat and I enjoy it the more because of that. Before dinner, Maureen and I went for a brisk walk in misty, cold Belford. We felt great and ready to justify consuming the food.

We had a few glasses of wine. Maureen and I played Scrabble. We did the Guardian quick crossword.

And so to bed. Perfect (except there is no wifi!!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.