Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

St Cuthbert's Way

After a lovely cooked breakfast - thank you Maureen and Brian - we set out mid morning for Wooler Common. Brian had planned a 6 -7 mile walk for us. At first it was rather grey, but the weather improved and the sun even came out later.

Those of you who know Maureen, Brian and me will not be surprised to hear that I was equipped with my compass and my GPS for this trip. Brian had the map. They have walked this route before, but always in reverse - and you know how different things look from the opposite direction.

As the walk proceeded, I heard many a tale of routes where they had been "temporarily misplaced" and, of course, I know about the one where the police helicopter found them. (Sadly they were not winched up, but a police car was sent to pick them up from a nearby road.)

Maureen's quote of the day was "We usually choose 6 - 7 mile routes and then it doesn't matter if we have to add on a couple of miles".

Harry will be pleased to know that we, jointly, navigated the route successfully. I can hear him grumping when I say that Maureen did not take her glasses and could not actually read the map!

We had a brilliant walk, Part was on St Cuthbert's Way, as shown in the blip, with two walkers coming towards us. They were given the hard sell for the Haltwhistle Walking Festival.

In other news: on Friday I circulated a photo from a lost photo album that was languishing in the village shop. I put one photo on Facebook and by 10 a.m. today I had an email to say that the owner lives in Penrith and had thought the album was lost forever. Now there's a happy social media story for you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.