Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Eggs are free foods

I have to get to grips with all the rules of the diet. I'll try not to produce too many food blips, but today I had to blip the eggs. Eggs are free food in the Slimming World diet so I decided to poach 2 for lunch.

If they had been fresher, I don't suppose they would have spread or made the sinuous shapes you see in the albumen.

This evening we went to Newcastle and had a planned meal out at Cafe Vivo. Goodness knows how many "syns" were in the meal so I may not have had the best start to the diet.  Julie came too and we watched 5 short plays written in reponse to the work of Julia Darling, a local writer and poet who died 10 years ago.

There were some interesting ideas, but the plays were uneven in quality and delivery. We all love the Live Theatre so enjoyed being there.

On our way home we were in an enormous traffic jam as the audience disgorged from the Metro Arena. I gather the band was 5 Seconds of Summer,  who I've not heard of.  It took quite some time to move out of the city, but we did have the opportunity to observe the fashions. Quite an education.

My eggs reminded me of a favourite poem written by Henry Kippin, aged 6, and published in the book Bossy Parrot in 1987:

Eggs
I do not like the way you slide
I do not like your soft inside
I do not like your many ways
And I can go for many days
Without eggs

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.