Arvin and his daughters

I had a great day today. It began with a long chat with my friend Helen. She came over and we walked and talked until five minutes before we were to leave for the Bellingham Music Club concert. I changed my clothes from casual pants to a pretty dress in just five minutes. I wanted to arrive early at the concert to be sure we got good seats.

The concert was as good as I had expected it to be. Even better actually. What fantastic music! For me the highlight was Cole and Sijuan's piano duet of La Valse by Ravel. It was magical and mesmerizing. They were totally brilliant and a joy to listen to and to watch. Cole has an inner calm that keeps him still and looking like he's at peace while his fingers make fire on the keys. Sijuan is a small woman who takes that piano for a joy ride with great power and agility. Wow! And they play together perfectly. They are young and newly married. My feeling is that their musical and personal connection was always there and has lately grown as they've begun their journey together. 

The other musicians were wonderful too and the whole concert made me proud to be a member of the music club, to live in this amazingly musical city of Bellingham, and awed by how competent and musical all of the players were. 

Afterwards we went to a reception where there was food and many friends and musical people sharing the excitement of the concert. It was a real celebration of the beginning of the 100th year of the Bellingham Music Club.

Almost forgot... Happy Father's Day to all you father's out there. Arvin certainly did enjoy the day. This morning his daughters gave him a gift certificate to buy Kindle books and very sweet cards.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.