My Performer

Saturday brought us the Dance Recital Sugar has been working so hard for.  It was wonderful seeing her perform in her three dances, and to visually see her improvements in the last several months.  She has worked so hard on her flexibility this year, and she seems to find remembering the choreography fairly easy.  Most of all....she loves it.  I can see how proud she feels of her hard work, and that is so important to me. She had a wonderful cheering section, and I know we were all very excited to see the JOY on her face.

Often the performances get me thinking about song content, costume appropriateness, and the sexualization of young girls that some of the dance moves seem to bring to the situation.  I don't always agree with the choices, and I have been talking a lot with the "powers that be" at the studio, and I hope there will be some changes.  I try really hard to balance my thoughts and feelings with constructive feedback, and acceptance of things that aren't within my control.  I have lengthy conversations with Sugar about how her dance classes, songs, and costumes make her feel, and we talk a lot about appropriateness.  It is my desire to be able to meet our goals for her in dance, and still stick to what we value as a family.  Sometimes there are hard choices.  The bottom line....Sugar is very happy dancing at her current studio, and I will be doing all I can to ensure that it is an appropriate place for her to spend her time.  We are excited to see what dance has in store for her in the coming season.  

After the recital, we had a late lunch, or early dinner, depending on how you look at it, with some friends.  It was delightful to have some relaxing down time with them.  Then Sugar and I headed home where I took some pictures of her with her dance flowers.  The stage makeup makes her look sooooooo much older.  It's like a glimpse into her future.  I love this girl.....and I couldn't be more proud.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.