BLESSINGS IN THE POST!

I have now been discharged from the hospital so now have to work at getting my knee as good as it can be.   I have been challenged this morning in my Quiet Time to be more positive - so instead of majoring on the pain and discomfort, I am going to say "It is much better than it was" and hopefully, now I have been told I can use the exercise bike, I will soon be able to say "My knee is really good!" 

Mr. HCB has now gone off to Cheltenham Festival, which lasts for two weeks, but he will be away daily for 5 days, until Sunday  - and in case you are wondering, it's not a Rock Festival, but a Cricket one!  Are you surprised?

I didn't get up until he had left and was about to go into the shower, when there was a loud knock on the door - I went downstairs as quickly as I could to see the postman with two packages in his hand - I opened the door a tad - being dressed only in my pink robe (!) and took them from him.  

I like to look at the packages before I open them, especially if they are handwritten,  to try and guess who they might be from, but didn't recognise the handwriting - and the postmark of Manchester didn't give me any clue either - I don't know anyone in Manchester!

However, once I had ripped open carefully opened the first one, it contained the beautiful table runner in the photograph.  It is so colourful and bright that it immediately lifted my spirits - but there was no note inside.

The second package gave me more of a clue - some vividly coloured coasters, a very colourful notebook with a drawing of a Mughal lady on the front - then the card, beautifully cross-stitched, revealed who the sender was.

I felt so blessed that a lady I had met originally on Blip and who has now become a friend, had taken the trouble to send all these gifts from Pakistan to England, via a friend of hers,  and they had arrived today - on the day that I had been determined to be more positive.  

God is good! 

I was reading Psalm 142 and some of the verses say this:

“As I sink in despair, .....
    you know how I’m feeling,
Your people will form a circle around me
    and you’ll bring me showers of blessing!”
Psalm 142 : 3 & 7
The Message

I wasn't feeling quite as low as that, but I have certainly felt those "showers of blessing" this morning!  A friend is coming over this afternoon and we will be watching Wimbledon - and chatting - hope she brings her "those must be specks of gold, not dust" glasses!!! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.