Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Changing Seasons

This is my 'One Tree.'  It is on the street behind my house.  It is only the second time I have taken a photograph of it.  The first was back in March of this year.  There is a completely different look to it now.

I love this tree because it is actually the only real tree anywhere near me.  The importance of that is because it is the home to so many birds.  I know it is the "launching pad" for the orioles, as I see them swoop out of that tree towards the water dish.  The same for the verdin, cardinals, lesser goldfinch and others.

Trees are so important to us. Of course, I always knew that, the rain forest and all, but I never had the appreciation of the trees in one's yard.  When I first moved in this house in Arizona, I had a tree on my property on the back slope similar to where this one is located.  I hated it, thought it was blocking my view of the mountains.  So I had it removed.  What a huge mistake I made.  It would have obstructed the view of some of my sunrises, but the trade off would have been another home for the birds and a closer, more natural area in which to view some of them.

At least I have my One Tree.  I know it's safe, too.  Elaine, on whose property it sits, would never consider taking it down.  Ever.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.