Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

LHR to DXB

via the X26...

Think I may have had one of the most relaxed getting-ready-to-go-to-the-airport mornings! All packed last night (phew) and very easy journey on the X26, in fact, the most complicated thing was finding a place to leave the car whilst dropping someone off with luggage!

So... I contemplated what I was leaving behind apart from my flatmate! You can see in the first picture, it was very overcast, which actually makes it very easy for travelling as it stays cool. I thought of one particular visit to the UK (think it might have been 1991) when it was bright, and sunny and beautiful flying. You could see beneath, a thick layer of dark cloud. On landing, it was a typical rainy day in London... I was met by a friend who complained about the weather. I said, "the sun is shining warm and bright above all those clouds. You just can't see it." There's a life lesson in there...

Took a picture crossing the river in Kingston. What a great place! I've got to go and check it out and so wished I knew that round the corner from their station, is the display of the red telephone boxes fallen on each other like dominoes. That would have made a great blip.

I do love the interiors of buses here. Vibrant red, yellow, blue... everything seems so intense...

Got to Heathrow's Central bus terminal right on time and worked my way to T5 without too much trouble. Mind, a nearly got on to the train heading to Paddington. Yikes! The Heathrow Express is so quiet - don't know how they do it, and what's more, there seems to be space for everyone to store their suitcases... Loving this new blue colour which is showing up everywhere!

And lastly, after 7 hours travelling 5,500kms (give or take a few), and going through Immigration in record time (less than 30 minutes), I then had to wait quite a while for my bag to show up! Can't decide if I'd rather do the waiting in the Immigration queue or amongst the chaos of baggage. Think immigration was nicer, especially as I met a lovely Australian couple who are travelling round the world and stopped off in Dubai for a couple of days at the advice of a friend. I hope they have a great time.

Got home to a very warm flat. 30 deg C indoors. I couldn't help wishing I was back in England and the much cooler temps... there you go.

Unpacked within 45 minutes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.