THE ACTUAL HOLLYHOCKS!

Following on from Abstract Thursday is Flower Friday, and as I had blipped the hollyhocks in an abstract form yesterday, I thought it might be good for you to see the actual flowers.

So, having got up late, because I slept in the other bedroom door due to a certain person snoring very loudly last night - and I blame the wine - I showered, put on my pink robe and slippers, once again, and I was out in the garden taking photographs of the hollyhocks.  Fortunately, at this time of the morning, they are in the shade, so here they are in all their glory.

Mr. HCB has grown these from seed and they have come on very well, although it’s a shame we haven’t got any pink ones - so if anyone out there has any pink seeds they want to swap with some pale yellow ones, do get in touch!

We are going out now to try and find a Tilley hat - as opposed to a Tilley lamp - for Mr. HCB to wear, as he has been told he must always wear one when he is out and about, and we all know how much time he spends in the garden and watching cricket!  I think this might be a joint Christmas and birthday present, because I understand they are very expensive - but he’s worth it!!  

Found this great quote and can’t wait to see Mr. HCB in a “jaunty” mood!

“Some hats can only be worn 
     if you're willing to be jaunty, 
          to set them at an angle 
and to walk beneath them 
     with a spring in your stride 
          as if you're only a step away 
               from dancing. 
They demand a lot of you.” 
Neil Gaiman, Anansi Boys

Thank you to everyone who left kind comments stars and a heart for my abstract yesterday - it was a busy day, so I didn't get round to commenting.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.