The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

1970s after-shave spray shot*

Day 5 in what the postcards and brochures now call Poldark country, and I still haven't seen Ross Poldark, unless he's disguised as a surfer in a wetsuit.

Rain on the roof awoke me. I still think I am at my mother's house every time I wake here, something to do with the angle of the light. It was dismal to begin with, leaden skies, so I concentrated on making an enormous fruit salad for breakfast and finishing a fiendish jigsaw puzzle. I had already stayed up till about 2.30 am, doing 'just one more piece', while admiring the total silence and darkness outside. So there really wasn't much more to do with it.

Eventually Mr Blue Sky made an appearance, and I set off 'round the shops'. TML and I had been chatting online, and I'd said that what Polzeath needed was (apart from some more year-round accommodation and jobs for local people)and book stall. So, you can imagine how pleased I was to,discover, on another caravan/camp site, an old red phone box stuffed full of books. You can bring one or take one. There are even kids' games. Great idea!

I got back and CleanSteve was sunning himself, and we made ready to go to the beach. By the time we got there, it was high tide, very breakerish, and fiendishly hot. I decided to finish my book first, but then I needed lunch, although it was about 4.30pm, so I never did get in the sea! Steve and I went out walking later, and that's when I got this spray shot. The light was strong, and I was shooting almost into it. Bad idea!

Now we're back at the 'van, having had supper, and about to watch a DVD (the first Marigold Hotel film) if we can ever get away from blipfoto!

*was it Blue Stratos?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.