Capital adventures

By marchmont

Away day

After Michael texted me the times of the Soller train that was today's plan. However, despite waking early (I'm back to that 4 a.m. awakening) I got distracted by other things and got to the station to find a huge queue. It was a bit cloudy so it was on to Plan B, a trip to Valldemossa, by bus. I had an hour to wait, so time for a cafe con leche and an ensaimada.

The sun had returned by the time I got to Valldemossa. It is pretty but busy with tourists so after a walk round and some attempts at self portaiture (there are three downsides to being a solo holidaymaker - no-one to take your photo, no-one to put suntan cream on your back and no-one to go to dinner with) it was on another bus to Deia which was much quieter and with views of the sea. It's where Robert Graves lived, and died, Valldemossa had Chopin and George Sand. I had a great tuna salad (and beer) in a bar in Deia before back on the bus to Palma, then the bus to Illetas, then to the pool. I'm on to Stewart MacBride now - 'Birthdays for the Dead', very gory.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.