Capital adventures

By marchmont

F1 Qualifying!

Well it was either this or orchids!

The family did not get up this morning (late night) so I set off alone to visit old haunts in Singapore.  Walked to Boat Quay via the Peninsula. That area seems to have gone upmarket.  

A number of routes are blocked off for the F1 but I took the opportunity for a boat cruise. It was hazier today. Then I did a dog leg to the Merlion. It was confusing. I remember it seeing before in its old location. I thought was 06 but as it was moved in 02 it must have been 01!

Then a VERY expensive tourist lunch at Boat Quay. 3 Tigers didn't help.  

It was hot but I set off to the Botanic Gardens and had a stroll through that green long and ended up in the Orchid Garden, again not as I remember it but that was definitely  2001.

Then it was a long walk to Orchard MRT, passed the first hotel I stayed in in '71, different name, same building. I was hot, tired and my back/leg ached. A 20 minute queue for a ticket v at Orchard MRT didn't help.

But a chill swim in the pool did.  No sign of the family so I had a rest, left a note and they found me having a cheap dinner!

Then back to the Stamford to watch part of the qualifying round. I have no idea who is who but the news later was that Vettel is in pole and that Lewis and Rosberg aren't even in the top three.  Unfortunately I won't get to see the race tomorrow. I'll be back in KL.

So no excuses for more F1. You can have orchids any day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.