Scrapbook Saturday: "A Funny Shape" - Toadstool

This is today's entry in my Scrapbook Saturday challenge (see here).

When I mowed the lawn yesterday I noticed scores of small, beautiful orange-yellow toadstools which were just asking to be blipped. As I'd already posted yesterday's blip, I avoided mowing that part of the lawn so that I could blip the toadstools today. Firstly I photographed them by daylight, but decided they'd look better by night, using transillumination.

It took a while to set up and get right; I used my little LED macro lights (see here) although of course I didn't fasten them to the camera as they'd have been in the wrong place. I had one light hidden behind the toadstool and the other providing side illumination. The camera was on my Gorillapod. I had to focus manually as there wasn't enough light for the autofocus, and afterwards I had to do some adjustment to the highlights & shadows in Photoshop.

Anyway, I hope you like the result. Please view large for best effect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.