If only...

If only this were an entry full of fun and the antics of a mischievous Wilson. Instead it is a somber reality check, a facing up to the fact Wilson is not himself and something is going on.

I took him to the vet after work because he's steadily lost weight over a period of months. He's lost even more in the last week or so, his coat has lost condition, and he isn't himself.

It could be the collar (which I've removed) has worsened his post-quake anxiety, or perhaps a different approach is needed to manage that. But he is approaching 14 years old and with that comes the same reality for all of us - mortality.

He's had bloods and a wee sample taken tonight. The vet said the colour of the latter suggested it's not his kidneys. I'll know more by Wednesday morning.

I have to be realistic for him and me. He's here with me now, gently purring and being the little mate he's always been. We'll take the next couple of days together, and beyond that I'll do what's best for him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.