Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

The Committed

At the Democratic Club table during the White Elephant Country Fair Days in Green Valley, Arizona.

I mean that in the dedicated sense, although, hearing her high pitched, projected voice made me, at times, want to commit something.  Maybe a little mayhem!

I admire those who are committed to a cause or a person and who are not afraid of getting out there and trying to sway people to see to their side of things.  This lady (let's call her Beatrice) was a little rough around the edges but committed no less than any other Bernie Sanders devotee.

She enthusiastically handed out Bernie fliers and offered up free buttons and bumper stickers for sale.  I played with her and every time I heard her call out a little, "Vote for Bernie,"  I countered with "Vote for Hillary!"  After all, I'm committed to my candidate for president, too, but my public commitment extends to only a sticker on my bumper (so far).

But good for the committed, for without them we would have no democracy.  Without the committed we may have had drilling in the Arctic or the Keystone pipeline.  We need the committed to do more than bumper sticker activism.  We need the Beatrice's,  rough around the edges, standing in the cold in the capital of Wisconsin during labor's darkest/brightest moments.

Beatrice feels the Bern.  Shh..vote for Hillary.

Today I pay homage to the COMMITTED.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.