An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Happy Christmas and Birthday to Me!

For the next couple of years at least!

I thought long and hard about upgrading my camera to full frame and about 6 months ago decided, once and for all, that I would stick with my trusty 60D.  Decision made.

That went well then!

Despite my best intentions, the little niggle deep down inside just wouldn't go away, until eventually it became a roar that I couldn't ignore any longer.  After researching full frame Canon cameras I finally settled on the 6D.  It's the same weight as the 60D ( a major consideration given my weak and pained hands)  The 5D is heavier and to be honest, I just couldn't justify the cost.  This is a hobby after all, not my living.

And so this beauty arrived today and I actually squealed with excitement!  I've only had time to have a very quick play but I love it!  Can't wait till tomorrow to explore it properly.

In other less exciting news, David and I visited another kitchen showroom today.  Spoke to the owner who was very helpful indeed and we're going to get the architect to email the drawings to him to see what he comes up with design and layout wise.

This afternoon we met with the woman from the kitchen company we originally spoke to months ago and she's going to incorporate the changes we've asked for in her design and re-quote us.  We've also changed the make of kitchen from her first quote and of course it's a more expensive range (why is it never the other way around) and I suspect, actually scrub that, I know when the quote comes in, we will laugh at it hysterically (once we pick ourselves up off the floor!!) but you've got to start of with your dream before whittling it down to reality, don't you?

Still trying to settle on whether we want a more traditional look (we live in a late Victorian house, built in 1900) or a traditional look with a contemporary twist.    

Examples of both styles attached (the white one being traditional, the green one having a modern twist)  Ignore the colours and worktops, it's purely the style/design we're thinking about.   Our living room is quite traditional but the garden room the kitchen will join will be contemporary.   

Thoughts welcome because we're starting to go round in circles!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.