Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

York!

We dropped Archie off at Duke's place this morning and he ran up the stairs yapping excitedly without a backward glance. He must remember the fun he had last time he stayed there.

We caught the 10am train to York (home of the KitKat and Chocolate Orange - I love it already!). We were sat (gosh, the widespread misuse of that word annoys me SO much!) seated/sitting beside a young Asian couple, and he had a portable doo-dacky that supplied unlimited wifi, and he invited me to use it too - how kind.

The young lady was a medical student at Aberdeen Uni. £28,000 a year!! For Five years!! The young chap lived in Singapore and recruited students for all the UK universities. They were heading for the Steampunk weekend in Haworth, Charlotte Bronté country. As you do...

We arrived in York at lunchtime and headed straight for a cafe we'd spotted on the internet - Brew and Brownie. Brilliant sandwiches and good coffee and no muzak - What a good start!!

We're in a groovy hotel (top two photos), with dozens of pubs, cafes and restaurants nearby. We had a wander out this evening and decided on a trendy new tapas bar. The food was delicious - much better than any tapas we had in Spain, actually. We were persuaded to try some of their sherries, which they were promoting. We had a couple of 'flights' - three sample glasses (each) of different sherries. All, I'm sorry to say, tasted like, well - sherry. (I had a Dutch friend who used to buy it by the flagon, and I didn't like it then). I managed two of my three glasses. I am so glad JR persuaded me not to finish the third one - headache material!

Looking forward to exploring tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.