Desperately seeking

By clickychick

RIP, Darling Ali

Always something there to remind me!

After quite a while of worrying about Ali, it is all over. For the past week she has hardly moved, spending her time, awake and asleep, beside her bowl. Last night I found her curled up in her litter tray. It had just been cleaned so I left her there.

During the night she had managed to get upstairs to the bathroom. I brought breakfast up to her. She struggled to her feet, ate a bit and went back to sleep.

When I got home this afternoon after shopping she couldn't support herself when I tried to stand her up. It was then I noticed an unfamiliarity, a wide face, large paws and as I felt her I realised that she was oedematous. I remembered that all to painfully from watching Mum suffer last year. I knew the causes and rang the vet.

At the surgery he agreed with me that, at 17 and a half, it was time to put her out of her pain and distress. He was very gentle towards us, he has known Ali since she was a kitten. He let her go slowly and stayed talking to me for as long as I needed to be there stroking her, long after the drug had worked.

Bye, bye, my beautiful puss, missing you.

This is an ornament that I once blipped with Ali. She loved jumping onto the table as soon as the black cloth went on and the lamp came out! She turned up in the background of a lot of blips.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.