Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A day in Newcastle

Today was the day of Mum's operation. The weather was fine and sunny which helped as we drove towards the point of no return.

The staff in the Plastic Surgery Day Unit were superb. We did have a longish wait, but, as the charming Irish registrar said, "We like you to get full value from the NHS while you are here!"

I went off for a couple of hours to the Quayside. Here you see the poster currently on the outside of the Baltic Centre for Contemporary Art in Gateshead. It is a photograph of Bill Murray and is part of Brian Griffiths exhibtion about him.

I was on the opposite bank and walked from one side to the other. Wherever I was, that camera was following me.

Mum was ready to home before 3pm -we had arrived just after 11am. She had a regional block anaesthetic and no sedation, so she was very chirpy. Her arm is still paralysed so we have to learn to pass the weight from one to another during dressing, etc. Not as easy as it looks I might add.

Mum wants to thank eveyone for all their good wishes. She reads everyone's comments and sometimes learns what I have been up to by seeing my Blips!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.