Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Velazquez at the Kunshistorisches Museum

Our original plan for today was a long walk in the country, but E was still poorly and the forecast iffy, so that plan was abandoned. I left the family to a "stay at home" day while I went back to Vienna.

Today I spent the morning at the Velazquez exhibition. Paintings have been brought together from around the world into the museum. I had the audio guide and I'm pleased to say that a) the museum was not too busy, b) there were lots of seats!

This image is taken from the main foyer, looking up towards the sculputre of Theseus slaying the minataur. You can see a projected image of the Rokeby Venus on the screen above.

After lunch I visited St Peter's Church to see an exhibition of cribs in the crypt. They had tiny cribs from all over the world. The highlight of the day though, was the organ concert in the church at 3pm. The programme was mainly Bach so I was able to sit and think about Guy and his family back in Humshaugh. He had chosen Bach for his funeral today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.