Image

Rotary has an image problem.

Boring old fa*ts, overwhelmingly male, white and Christian, all getting together to behave in an other worldly and old fashioned way while making themselves feel better about themselves by "doing good deeds".

They say grace. They toast the Queen. They roll up trouser legs and do funny handshakes. 

It's all true. Except in my club.

Five women and two men today. Not all of us are white either. We don't talk about religion. We meet at 7.15am.   

Three of the other male members (am I allowed to write that?) had in fact turned up for the meeting.

The consultant haematologist was called away before he got his coat off. Junior colleagues delayed on their commute by the Forth Bridge closure. The vet was called away to treat a budgie which had suffered a loose bowel movement (or something like that). He managed a wee slurp of coffee. The sales director was so fast out the door I don't know what his urgent problem was.    

Six of us are going out for lunch on Saturday. Two are driving so that the others can get blootered enjoy the wine. I had to throw away my raincoat after last year's outing. Glühwein stains all down the front (not my fault!). I may wear my gardening clothes this year. 

The Blip is Norma, Jo and Heather listening intently to our speaker. Dick. He was very good. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.