Fallow Deer

I've just short of two hundred photo's to go through, after today's wander across the parkland at Dyrham. Maybe there're even better pictures to be discovered in time, but I very much like this one. 

The gents were all sat together, chewing the cud, discussing girls... when Janet walked into view to their right, leaving me to get closer and closer. Later, we came across the girls, kept under the watchful eye of a couple of stags. 

Happily, we found ourselves surrounded, as the local keeper popped by with a few bags of feed, and we had a chat about the various types of Fallow Deer they keep at Dyrham - I thought there was only the one breed on site, I was wrong. There are four, ranging from almost black to almost white and all shades in between.

A couple of the young stags had a mock battle in front of us; practice for the autumn rut ahead of them. I anticipate I will add quite a few more pictures to those already on my flickr account in good time...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.