Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

I found it

This watercolour was painted by my dear friend, Malcolm McArthur. It is the cooking area in a rondavel in Botswana.

We met there in 1973 when I went to the Scottish Livingstone Hospital in Molepolole for my elective period. Malcolm was the surgeon there. He and his wife, Gudrun, were missionaries with the Free Church of Scotland. (Do not confuse with the Wee Frees please!)

We have kept in touch over all the years. We have some prints of Malcolm's paintings, and this original watercolour. He will be pleased to see this blip because I could not find where I had accidentally "hidden" the picture when he was last here and he wanted a picture of it.

Malcolm's father was the inventor of the famous portable McArthur handheld microscope for use in the field.

Otherwise, it has been very windy and we had heavy hail at one point. I'm getting ready for Venice, with mounting excitement.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.