A time for everything

By turnx3

Ivy berries

Friday
A dismal day weather-wise. When I set out for my morning walk, it was just drizzling, but the rain became progressively more steady as I walked. Blip opportunities were few and far between, so this was the best I have to offer. Fortunately, I had plans for the rest of the day, to take my mind of the miserable weather. This afternoon was Book Club, and we always meet for lunch first. The book for today was Gary Shteyngart's Little Failure: a memoir.  In 1979, at the age of 7, Gary leaves the Soviet Union with his parents to begin a new life in America. In Little Failure, Shteyngart shares his American immigrant experience, as Russian Jews, moving back and forth through time and memory with candour and self-deprecating humour. The result is a poignant story of family and belonging, and prompted some good discussion. I haven't actually finished the book yet, but am enjoying it so far. Our hostess today, Sarah, is a writer herself, so it was especially interesting hearing her take on the book.

One year ago: Tranquility

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.