WONDERFUL WEDNESDAY AFTER THANKFUL TUESDAY!

I had already done my Tiny Tuesday blip yesterday when the postman arrived with a large box - so it wouldn’t have been any good for the challenge anyway!  The box was clearly marked “Fragile - Fresh Flowers - This Way Up” and unlike the plant that I received for my birthday from a friend, this box was in pristine condition!

I did think that Mr. HCB was being romantic and had sent me some flowers for Valentine’s Day, so when I asked him “Who are they from?” he shrugged his shoulders and said “How should I know!”

I quickly opened the package and found a beautiful bouquet of carnations with a card that said: 
“To Maureen, 
Just Because x 
With Love P.”  

I did recognise the name and realised it was from a fellow blipper - and I am excited because we are having a Blipmeet at the end of March.  How very kind - and I was really touched by this thoughtful gift.  

This is a wonderful community of people, and I am so pleased that it will be carrying on - over the months, I have sent gifts to other blippers but I am so pleased that it was my turn to be on the receiving end yesterday.  So, thank you very much, P - you know who you are - and here’s to our Blipmeet in about 6 weeks’ time.

I met with a friend this morning for coffee, to help her with the various functions on her camera and also to give her some pointers on how to tag photographs on her computer.  When we left each other, I bought some daffodils to give away - instead of giving up things for Lent, I am trying to do some random acts of kindness, as I did at Christmastime.  

A young mum with three children came into view - she was struggling with a pushchair and the children were obviously unhappy in the rain that was hammering down by this time.  I explained what I was doing and said she probably didn’t have much money to spend on herself with three little ones, so asked her to accept the daffodils.  I had my first kiss for doing something like this, when the young mum grabbed me, hugged me and kissed me on the cheek and said how grateful she was - amazing how a £1 bunch of daffodils can make such a difference to someone!  

“Love what you have.
Need what you want.
Accept what you receive.
Give what you can.
Always remember,
what goes around,
comes around…..”

P.S.  Still doing the Mono Month Challenge, so the colour version of this carnation is my extra today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.