The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Street

"The streets looked small, of course. The streets that we have only seen as children always do I believe when we go back to them”

Another entry for the Dickens challenge. This quote comes from David Copperfield, a favourite for me, along with Great Expectations, as it is the first Dickens book I attempted to read. My sister Tanya gave me an illustrated 'golden treasury' book for Christmas one year. It contained excerpts from many books that I went on to read, including Stuart Little, The Happy Prince, and Heidi. David Copperfield was next to Stuart Little! I read a simplified version of DC when it was presented to me in simplified format when I was in the Upper Third, aged about eleven. I would be in my forties, however, before I discovered the power of Dickens' language, as well as his storytelling supremacy.

Helen and I stopped in Llanidloes to buy some Welsh lamb chops from the butcher's under the Town Hall. I have put them in the freezer, as we are now back in Stroud. The main street looked surprisingly empty for a Friday morning...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.