SOUPER SATURDAY & MONO MONTH CHALLENGE

I never thought that in my late 60s (and now early 70s) I would make lots of new friends and ones, I’m sure who will be friends for many years, but such is the ethos of Blip that when we meet someone, we immediately have something in common.

Many of my new friends, made both on Blip and elsewhere, are Christians and this is a common bond that is very strong - some we have been to visit and stayed with - and some have come to us to visit.  Today is such a day for a visiting Blipper, HomeAndAway2015 and her lovely poodle, Dolly, who having been here once before, seemed quite at home.

The last time H visited we had home made soup and we had it again today - she probably thinks I can’t cook, but soup is an easy meal to prepare and with some lovely fresh bread, cheese and pickles, it went down a treat, and as I didn’t have to spend that much time in the kitchen, it meant we could chat more.  Dolly brings her own food - but she might have enjoyed the soup!

From the time H arrived until she left, we never stopped chatting - and that includes Mr. HCB;  we are so grateful for her friendship and all the things we have in common.  We talked quite a lot about how the things we do each day can evoke many memories - and H remarked that her Mother used to make soup - so today’s simple meal reminded her of this.  

We are often in touch apart from Blip and the sad thing for me is that we didn’t have our photograph taken together, but never mind - that means we will have to have another Blipmeet.  Thanks for coming, H - and we both look forward to the next time.

“If you really want to make a friend, 
     go to someone’s house 
          and eat with him… 
               the people who give you their food 
                    give you their heart.” 
Cesar Chavez

P.S.  I am very happy with my Mono collage, but love the colour photograph of Dolly, which I have put in as an extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.