The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Cash boxes, keys, padlocks, ledgers, deeds

For the Dickens challenge week 4, I have chosen a quote of my choosing from A Christmas carol: " and it was made of ( for Scrooge could see it clearly) cash boxes, keys, padlocks, ledgers, deeds."

This is my old ledger, which I resurrected yesterday in order to do my card selling accounts, and a list I found in an old note pad in my mother's room during last year's Highland House Clearances. It seems to be a list of prices of various types of carpet and underlay. The only part I can read clearly is in my mother's writing. Is Youghal Court a place in Ireland, where we lived in the 1970s, or a type of carpet too? 4.75 looks like a price, but Sat afternoon? I doubt we will ever know now. My mother doesn't remember everything now. I don't either....

We have had a busy outdoor day with Steve's sister, nephew and great-nephews, so I won't write any more right now. At least I found a very tenuous connection to Dickens, even if I forgot to include the red cash box!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.