An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Pia, Pia, Piano...

Up early as the joiner was coming to start flooring the loft.   Left him to get on with it and I was able to escape the banging and drilling by going to the dentist.  What joy :-))

Six month check up went well but last week a chunk of tooth fell off an upper right molar so that had to be filled.  All done with no drilling and no injections.

Alan has been doing well using his eye gaze communication aid.  Up until recently all the content in the machine has been to allow functional communication, so he can use it to say certain phrases, make choices etc but his support worker Ed, who is responsible for uploading new content to the tablet, has been keen to get some kind of games on it too.

Long story short, it's taken a while to identify games that are compatible with Alan's kit but a few weeks ago, we finally got some uploaded.

Alan showed some interest in all of them, including one where he can create paintings on the screen using his eyes, but the one that really captured his imagination was the piano.   

This shouldn't have come as a surprise as David has been playing the piano for Alan since he was months old, sitting in his little bouncy chair.   If I had a pound for every time the Tellytubbies theme tune had been bashed out on the piano by the time Alan was four, I'd be a very rich woman!  :-))

So I think it is just the sweetest thing that when Alan asks for the piano game on his eye gaze, he also wants to sit at the real piano and have his dad join him so they can play together.    It makes my heart swell.

The photo isn't the best quality as I had the wrong lens on my camera and I was trying my best not to intrude, but I love it just the same :D


(It all began here, almost four years to the day. It's been a slower process than anticipated, due to many factors but he's getting there :-)

https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/1838563

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.