An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Living by Numbers...

Where to begin?  Today has been a bit of a whirlwind!

Woke up with a slight toothache in an upper, right tooth.  Not surprised.  The filling and tooth crumbled at the beginning of December and I made an emergency appointment at the dentist but had to cancel when Alan ended up in hospital.   Since it wasn't giving me any bother I've ignored it ever since.  Thought I better get it seen to.  That in turn made me think of other things that need doing so by mid morning I'd arranged a blood test for Monday, a haircut for Tuesday and the dentist for Wednesday!  

The plumber and joiner were here again today working on the utility room.  The water was switch off for ages.  Luckily I'd grabbed a coffee just before it went off.  The technology guys arrived to install the new telly in the garden room and get it linked into the house sound system.  They also upgraded the speakers in ceiling the living room.  They did lots of other programming things that I don't understand but I am sure it will all make sense to me in the end.  Maybe.

When Alan got up I was delighted to see him back to his usual cheerful and cheeky self.  Whatever lurgy was preying on him at the weekend seems to have lifted thank goodness.  

A delivery arrived mid afternoon and I was delighted to see the delivery man was Jamie.  I had just been admiring photos on his FB page last night that he'd taken at a recent wedding and also shots of his new baby niece so was delighted to be able to have a face to face chat with him and hear all about his new camera.  I sent him on his way before he started tempting me to look at new kit!  

Just before 3pm H, the big builder boss, arrived to meet with the man from Perth and Kinross Council Planning Dept to go over the build and hopefully be told the completion certificate for the work would be issued.  I waited patiently in the living room.

After a tour of the site, Council Man was off and H came to tell me the good news that the completion certificate will be issued.  Yay!  It's official.  The work is complete!  Just have to actually finish it now!  LOL!  

All being well, it should actually be complete by close of play on Friday, apart from the utility room, which was an add on by us and not part of the main contract.  They will also be back to replace our front door and build a proper wheelchair ramp.  

But in essence, the main build is now complete.

And not before time.

Talking of time (do ya see what I did there? :-)) today's blip is a clock I've bought for the spare room.  It made me smile.  And no, that's not a tablecloth it's sitting on, it's a cover the joiner put over the kitchen table to protect it while he works in the utility room.  

In other news, David's successor at work has been appointed.  There were 75 applicants!!!  I hope he realises what a great job he's giving up! I asked him if he'd changed his mind about stopping work.  I don't think I need tell you what his answer was :-))  

Anyhoo, it's worked out well as his successor can start immediately so it means he has the chance to do a proper handover, which he is pleased about.  I think he will get immense satisfaction from handing over the reins :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.