Supporting NUFC

Matchday.

The local derby.
 
Newcastle United V Sunderland

A crucial match for both teams as they are both at the bottom of the league.  The atmosphere was tense.   The football was not of a high standard.  Sunderland scored just before half time.  Newcastle scored on the 83rd minute. So the final score was 1 - 1.  A draw.  Of course 3 points would have been a better result but at least we didn't gift the 3 points to Sunderland. Honours even.  So both teams are still in deep trouble.  Thankfully there wasn't too much trouble after the match - only 20 arrests which isn't bad for a derby match. 

There was a chap sat behind me who shouted abuse constantly.  Directed at the Sunderland players and fans. His main chant was Kill the Mackems  ( Mackems are Sunderland fans ).  He left the ground after 1 hour so he missed the Newcastle goal - serves him right

I took a lot of photos today and have dithered as to which one to blip.  I have put a panoramic shot of the ground in my extras.

After the match I went  for fruit in Tesco before getting the bus home.  I was very sleepy and nodded off on the sofa for a while.  Tino wasn't keen on this idea and he kept howling to wake me up. 

I got a text from Neil asking if I had got home safely - he always worries about me on Derby Day. 

Steps today - 7,987

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.