Colourful London

An early start! In fact a VERY early start, with the alarm going off at 5.20am and Jon and I on our way in to Norwich by 6.10

Jon dropped me at the station at 6.55 where I met Merv and we caught the 7.05 train. If Merv thought he was getting a nice catch up on his sleep, he was much mistaken! The two hour journey flew with me chatting;-)

Meanwhile, Jon got to Cambridge at 8am and Henry, who we had left alone at home, fast asleep, successfully got himself up, and out in time for his school bus by 7.20.

So a day in London at the Guildhall just a stones throw from Liverpool Street station. We were there to receive training on the subject of GMPs, something all my pensions colleagues past and present will be familiar with. Not exciting, unless you are particularly passionate about pensions....like we are!

We caught the 3pm train home, managing to dodge the rain and the people on our walk back to Liverpool Street. This was taken from the escalator descending to the platform level. It is quite a vibrant scene, in colour and movement. It crossed my mind how somewhere exactly like this was the target by terrorists this week. Impossible to imagine how life could change in the blink of an eye. I shuddered at the thought and was glad to be on the train home.

At Norwich I then had a short wait for the Cromer train, passing the time drinking tea and reading the EDP.

On the last leg of my journey I got chatting to a gentleman who was travelling from Huntingdon to Cromer by train for the first time, even though he'd been visiting Cromer for 30 years to visit his mother in law. He wanted to know how many stops to Cromer. I didn't know! We got there though, it wasn't difficult to spot the Cromer sign, where I met Jon in Morrisons. So home at 7pm - a long day! Not done much since. Moll cooked pizza and now I'm going to watch Bear Grylls.

Sleeping until 10 tomorrow. Fact!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.