An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Oh I do like to be beside the seaside...

Due to the unavailability of Alan's Support Workers this afternoon, we found  ourselves having a day where it was just the three of us, which was actually rather lovely.

After a late lunch, we decided to go a run in the car and found ourselves at Broughty-Ferry and what a trip down memory lane that was.  

I spent a fair bit of time in Broughty-Ferry as a child as my friend Fiona lived there and I would go and stay at hers during school holidays.   

One of my happiest memories of staying at hers was coming out her house, walking to the end of her road, crossing the bridge over the railway line and finding myself on the beach.  I just loved the fact she lived so close to the sea.  On the other hand, my mum wasn't quite so happy when she found out I'd been paddling in the sea (accidentally then with a what-the- hell-my-feet-are-wet-now-so-might-as-well-go-for-it attitude) in my new Clarks shoes!  :-))

We drove to her old street today and saw the house and although it's around 40 years since I was last in that street (her parents moved to another part of Broughty-Ferry when I was about 10) it hadn't changed and I recognised the house immediately.   So strange to sit looking at a house as an adult remembering so many happy times inside it as a child.

Afterwards we parked by the Castle and David and Alan went for a long walk along the front.  I stayed put and people watched, took some photos (other blip contenders in extras) and generally daydreamed.

Of course we couldn't come home without having the obligatory fish supper sitting by the sea.  Delicious it was too.   Can't remember the last time I did that either.

When we got home I was full of good intentions of catching up on here but the mixture of the sea air and strong codeine meant that as soon as my bum hit the sofa, I was out like a light.

Now it's 1am and I am wide awake but must try and get some sleep as busy day tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.