Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Welcome to Athens

My day started early with a drive from my hotel to the long stay carpark at the airport. I was very lucky because the bus was waiting at the near by stop when I arrived and I was one of the first to check in at 0400.

The flight was on time, arriving in Amsterdam at 0820. Then I waited for my next flight to Athens at 1205, arriving here at 1620. The taxi drive to the hotel was on a fast motorway. The car was very clean but the Greek equivalent of highly perfumed Shake n Vac had been used. It made me queasy. Watching the road was essential and took my mind off the video on the screen by the driver. (At least one of us was watching the road.....)

At the hotel, the helpful concierge sorted me out immediately. I was given iced water while I checked in. She produced a map, marked important places on it and explained how I should spend my time tomorrow morning. I will be at breakfast at 0700 so as to be at the Acropolis by 0800 and so on!

After a short rest and a shower (bliss) I ventured out to the restaurant she recommended. Did I mention is was 23 degrees C when I arrived? I ate outside in a comfortably evening balm.

My final visit was to walk to Parliament to see the changing of the guard. Now I know where John Cleese was on holiday before he devised a particular sketch. See extra.

My main blip is the tray of appetizers brought to my room soon after I arrived.

In other news, Mum had a good night. Bowlby was at the vet's because she developed bladder problems just as I came away. Not good. She is back home, disgruntled and washing all traces of the vet surgery from her beautiful fur.  Oh yes, my second temporary filling came away yesterday too. I'm hoping the holiday is not doomed!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.