Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Athens

This morning I followed the hotel receptionist's instructions: "you will be at breakfast for 7 o'clock and then walk to the Acropolis for 8 o'clock, when it opens."

It was a good plan. At 0800 there are relatively few people. I also heard the heavy tramping of boots as a cohort of young soldiers marched through the site.  By 0900 there were bus loads of tourists and school parties everywhere.  (I can't imagine what it must be like at the height of the season.)

There are cranes and workmen everywhere.

I found image taking to be challenging in the bright sunshine, until I started to take mono shots.

Wandering the streets, en route to my hotel, I came across the ancient Greek Orthodox Church of St Nicholas where my blip is taken. It was very quiet and peaceful. The man looking after the church told me about the present congregation of 100-200 people, who come from all around. Only 5 - 7 are from the immediate vicinity.

I checked out of my hotel (love it and return next week) at lunchtime and took the Metro to Piraeus. There were no seats and a boy of about 10 stood up for me. I was then sitting amongst his family, or rather 2 families of Afghans en route to Germany. Their English was very limited but the children did their best. They knew "Macedonia shut". Suddenly they were gone, presumably to their temporary accomodation.(See extra)

It was an unexpectedly long walk to the ferry, on uneven pavements with crowds of people and shops. Eventually I found my group and my ticket which I promptly lost.  It turned up jammed between the white Lee filter cap and the lens on the camera.

The ferry left 90 minutes late and lost more time (misfiring enging?) on the journey. We were very tired by the time we arrived in the dark. After one false turn, we did find the hotel. It was a surreal moment, because we walked in to a reception area full of Easter bunnies and chocolates! Easter is not until May 1st and the hotel is also a confectioner's shop.

We ate out late and finally to bed.  You will now understand why this is a back blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.