Bees but no birds!

Woke with a headache that got progressively worse - Estelle had her appointment at 9 so I ate a banana, took some tablets and set off. She nestled against me as the vet took a look, she has always been friendly and was such a character, but she was obviously suffering so no doubt as to what had to be done. As I waited for the empty cat carrier to be returned to me I sat in the waiting room feeling sick and at one point thought I might be asking them for a dark,quiet room to lie down in. As I felt so awful there was no sorrow for Estelle - which was possibly a good thing, and it was better she was out of her pain.
I spent the rest of the morning asleep on the kitchen sofa, then the rest of the day in the conservatory reading and listening to Radio 4 in the sun, visualising my shed and all the seeds on the shelf waiting to be sown!  I set my camera up outside and only moved when I hard a bumble bee buzzing! I swear it was the same bee each time - doing the same flowers. Here it is on the Green alkanet or evergreen bugloss, it's from the same family as Borage, and was imported into Britain hundreds of years ago for use as a dye. It was particularly cultivated by monasteries because the roots of the plant produce a rich red that is ideal for ecclesiastical cloth. Its religious connections may go back as far as ancient Egypt where priestesses are said to have used it as a hair dye!  The bee had quite a time in the tulip which was open but like a goblet and I wondered if there was a spider inside that had caught it as it was making such a noise and shaking the tulip so much! So I left the camera and looked inside - it seemed to be having a bath in the pollen and reminded me of Dita Von Teese!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.