An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Tintinnabulation...

Somewhere in between The waxing and the waning wave 
Somewhere in between What the song and silence say 
Somewhere in between The ticking and the tocking clock 
Somewhere in a dream between Sleep and waking up
 Somewhere in between Breathing out and breathing in 
Like twilight is neither night nor morning


The pain caused by my creaky hip over the last few weeks has severely curtailed my activities and brought about some enforced leisure time.  Whilst this has been frustrating to say the least, it has also allowed me to enjoy some all too rare moments of sitting still and just living in the present.  And today has been a day for doing just that.

I've had the house to myself this afternoon so after lunch I took myself off to sit in The Black Chair and just be somewhere in-between. 

Once settled, I closed my eyes and emptied my mind, concentrating only on the messages received from my senses.  

Cool air kissing my face and the resulting goose bumps on my arms, wood pigeons calling each other in the distance, warm softness of the black velvet chair as I cosied in, the fresh scent of spring still with a little nip of winter ticking my nose, slow breathing in, out, in, out..... and all of it intermingled with the dancing, jingling notes from my wind chime.  

A wonderful heady combination and I enjoyed every second sitting there.  Lost in time.  Somewhere in between.

Alan and Ed are back now from their wander down the town, David will be in from work shortly (he doesn't usually work on a Saturday but he has Monday off instead :-)) and the spell is broken.

It's Ele and Kenny's 29th Wedding Anniversary today (29th?!  I can hardly believe that!) and we're going out for dinner with them tonight.  Just locally to our favourite casual little restaurant where there's always a warm welcome, good atmosphere and good food.  

Should be a good night :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.