Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Nearly too late

Yes, today the Haltwhistle  Spring Walking Festival started. It was a happy, noisy gathering in the Market Place as 32 walkers prepared for the first long walk.

I took the standard photo of the group and will post it on our website soon. Then I asked the walkers to help me celebrate my blip birthday by releasing 2100 yellow balloons. I know it is not a proper blipday, but when I started out, reaching 100 and then 200 was very significant! All but one balloon was released. Richard had the string around his finger so saved me the embarrassment of missing the "decisive moment". There is the shadow of one balloon if you look closely.

We did a 12 mile circular south of Haltwhistle and learned about the industry of the area. We also visited the Coanwood Quaker Meeting House and Linnshields Waterfall.

There were quite a few new people today which was lovely. The "oldies" all greated each other warmly and a good time was had by all (even Ann who put one foot into a stream when crossing it).

The show is definitely on the road.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.