End of the Tracks

Last Friday we woke up to snow,  but today has been our warmest of the year – fifteen degrees this afternoon! Today I woke up to the outcome of yesterday’s election – not a huge surprise, though the rise of the Tories is quite unsettling.  Personality over policy, and maybe people don’t equate the Scottish Conservative leader with the UK leadership. There is now a band of blue right across the Scottish borders.

BB was up early to finish his homework.  He also discovered that the tooth fairy had not come.  Did you put it under your pillow?, asked I , no I had it in my bed, to tease and trick the tooth fairy!, said he.    The rascal succeeded.  Although TT had seen him put the tooth under his pillow, it wasn’t there when the tooth fairy came.  She did a lot of searching, with no luck.  He has now put it under his pillow.  Will the tooth fairy visit tonight?

I went for a walk after school drop off.  I was decidedly over-dressed, as I quickly realised how mild it was, and there was no cold wind – in fact no wind at all.

BB brought his model castle back home from school today , which means we now have two castle models in the front room!  They may be needed as emergency blips one day.

He had football this afternoon, and instead of my walk round by Tranent, I had a walk round by Prestonpans – more than half of the walk was just through houses.  I did manage a bit of coast, but the tide was high, so I had to resort to the road in places, as the path was submerged.  BB was feeling under the weather when I picked him up and just wanted to go home, rather than to hockey.  I think he may have just over heated. He did seem very tired, so  I sent him to bed, but he was soon feeling better!

Here are some discarded railway track in Prestonpans.  I think they were probably for transporting  coal to Cockenzie Power Station.

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.