Super Edinburgh Saturday!

I woke before my alarm but couldn't get back to sleep, so got up and showered at 8. That was an experience in itself, as the water temperature had a mind of it's own, so I jumped in and out dodging the scalding then freezing water.

We all got ourselves up whilst continuing our marathon chatathon. I'd love to know how many words I uttered yesterday, as my throat is a bit sore today. But it hasn't stopped me today!

We left the flat at about 9.45am wrapped up for the not 24 degree Edinburgh clouds, and prepared for a full day out. A short walk up the road and we were on the royal mile looking at a bus stop sign. Loudly stating the number 35 bus doesn't go to the Ocean Terminal, it was quietly pointed out by a fully kilted scot standing at the stop, that we needed to be on the other side of the road. We felt a bit silly but crossed over just as a bus came along. We posted £5 into the slot for our ticket (supposed to be exact money but it was £4.80 for 3 of us) and we ran up to the top deck for a good view. The bus took us to Leith where the Royal Yacht Britannia is moored. At 10.30 we arrived and were one of the first in the queue, collecting our personal guides to take us on the tour. Sadly the guide was not a nice sailor, or 'Yottie' but a hand held recorded message/instructions. We then spent 3 hours, including a coffee & scone break in the royal cafe, enjoying our tour. We caught the next bus back to Princes Street where there was a distinct chill in the air. We walked up and down a bit, ending up in Browns for a late (3pm) lunch. We all had a nice warming bowl of soup. Karen and I also had a pear vodka, and elderflower cordial, lime & soda cocktail. Joanne had tea with hers. We enjoyed it lots. Then we walked back to the Royal Mile where we were booked in to a tour of Mary Kings Close at 5.30. I went in 2013 with my family and enjoyed it so much I wanted the girls to see it. We all enjoyed it & I can't really explain what it is on here. Google it if you're interested! If you love history though, and are ever in Edinburgh, I recommend it.

We walked home knowing our flat was very close to a Pizza Express, and have spent our last few hours eating, drinking and yet more chatting.

It has been a second lovely day with these lovely ladies! I like being 50. Tomorrow we will check out the shops.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.