An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Feeling Fruity...

When my Tesco delivery arrived this morning, I couldn't help but be amazed at how much my tastes have changed since I began this healthy eating malarky a few weeks ago.  

Although our diet has always consisted of lots of salad and vegetables, I've never been much of a fruit eater, until now.   In today's delivery there were strawberries, a pineapple, apples, oranges, bananas, mangos, melon, limes, a coconut and lemons (to be fair the lemons are always on my shopping list.  Can't have a G&T without a slice ;-)

Last night after dinner I made instant strawberry, pineapple and banana ice cream in my blender.   It was absolutely delicious and it feels so good knowing it's healthy.   David scoffed three large scoops and after confirming its health benefits (it seems wrong that something that tastes this delicious is actually good for you), polished off what was left in blender.

My next ice cream adventure will be mango, pineapple and coconut but not till tomorrow as D is out tonight.  It might be healthy but I don't think eating a whole blenderful by myself would be a good idea.  

I also got shock as I ate my sandwich at lunchtime.  Lovely seeded wholemeal bread with roast beef and sun-dried tomato filling.  So far so good, but after the first couple of bites my mouth felt as though it was full of gunge!   This is the first time I've had bread in about three weeks and I can't believe how much I didn't enjoy it.  I honestly felt as though I was chewing on cotton wool.  

Afterwards I realised I would have enjoyed the roast beef and sun-dried tomatoes much better if I'd just had them on a plate with some celery, hummus and a handful of cashew nuts.  As a life time lover of bread, this is a revelation to me and I'm certainly not complaining. 

Got a weekend away with some girlfriends this weekend and I plan to take some homemade Empire biscuits.  Having had no refined sugar for nearly a month I have a vision of eating one with a coffee on Saturday and being in a sugar coma for the rest of the day!   I'll risk it though :-) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.