Red Tulips by the Lily Pond

It was drizzling when I drove to work, but it was a fine soft rain that didn't deter me from visiting the Arboretum. I had my umbrella in my hand and my Crocs on my feet, and I was ready for the rain.

I knew there were just a few decent stands of tulips left, and I wanted another crack at this shot, which I've been working on since these red tulips began to open about two weeks ago. (Yes, I'm obsessive like that; I often go back and try the shot several times, under different skies.)

As I arrived at the gardens, I noticed two workers in the main tulip display wearing bright yellow slickers against the rain. Each one had a wheel barrow and was on her knees, tossing tulip bulbs into it. I guess that means the main show is officially over now.

This year's tulip display - 30,000 bulbs - was gorgeous. World class, in fact, and I will miss it a lot. When the tulip blooms were in full swing, I was there every day, soaking it in, taking pictures, just . . . being happy.

Is there such a thing as soaking in too much beauty? I think not. My soul (and my photo library) is full of tulips, in every color of the rainbow. I have tucked them safely into my heart to consider on a cold winter day when the sky is gray.

To get this shot, I was kneeling under my umbrella in the fragrance garden, facing the lily pond, with my back against the trellis that sits behind the red flowers. I didn't realize it until I stepped away, but that trellis was SOAKED, and of course, I got my pants all wet.

But it was well worth it, as I was able to get just a few more shots of the beautiful blooms. So here are some red ones to add to my heart's bouquet. What a tulip party it has been! Thank you for the show!

The song to accompany this image is the legendary singer/storyteller Harry Chapin, with Flowers Are Red.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.